top of page
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

Don't Touch That Dial

Everyone Loves Deadpool, Exept Me


Everyone loves Deadpool, or at least that seems to be the trend these days. Most of the fans are usually teenagers who have read all of three comics and like to boast themselves as fans, when in reality they're just like the rest of the bandwagon jumping fanboys that spend way too much of their parents money buying merch from Hot Topic. I wanna take a minute at tell you about the Deadpool I remember, he was the character that always got mistaken for Spider-Man with guns. He was special back then, and he was still highly unknown.

When I first got into his character it was nearly impossible to find a t-shirt with his depiction on it. I went to almost a dozen different comic book stores trying to find one, but now it's like every department store has to plaster his face on

a variety of different t-shirts, always emblazoned with the word chimichanga somewhere on it. But, it wasn't just that fact that he was unknown to the mass population of Marvel fans, he was literally unknown to everyone. Which to me, made him special, made him something that was my own. Now I feel like I'm just like every other fan when I put on my old Deadpool tees.

I mean don't get me wrong, I'm happy that he's become popular. There's a new movie, a ton of new comics, and merchandise everywhere, but somehow he's lost his unique charm. He's not just a character that only people who really get into comics would know about. He's been pimped out by Marvel so much that they can't even get kids to stay at home when the movie first came out into theaters. Which kind of proves my point to a certain degree, if people actually knew who he was, parents would never allow their young children to step foot into the theaters to watch his movie.

Maybe I'm just bitter about the whole situation, but I feel like I have to share him with everyone now. Even the comics have changed quite a bit, he went from a brutal smart mouth mercenary to a slap stick comedian with katanas, I guess this is just one of my failed attempts to stay out of the mainstream. Guess I better get used to it after the success of the film that just came into theaters, which I won't lie, I still haven't seen the movie because of the peak of his popularity. I guess it's my small way to resist the thought of giving him to everyone.


For a LIMITED time ONLY we will be accepting applications to write for this website. If you're a writer and have a passion for the Nerdverse drop us an email and we'll see if you got what it takes to be on GeekDup

Write for GeekDup

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page